Chiyoda CityEducation
Chiyoda City Foreign School Pupil Guardian Subsidy
外国人学校児童・生徒保護者補助金
In short: ¥6,000 a month per child at a foreign school, for guardians of foreign or dual nationality.Registered in Chiyoda; foreign nationality or dual nationality including Japanese (Japanese-only excluded).(Source: www.city.chiyoda.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: Current per Chiyoda City official page read in full 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.chiyoda.lg.jp/koho/kosodate/teate/gaikokujin.html
- Which schools qualify — see page.
Who qualifies
- Registered in Chiyoda; foreign nationality or dual nationality including Japanese (Japanese-only excluded). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | School-age child at a foreign school. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Registered as a resident of Chiyoda City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.
Where to apply
- Apply to Chiyoda City (see the official page for the counter and online options). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
- Forms distributed in September (Apr–Sep) and February (Oct–Mar). If you move in mid-year, contact the Child Allowance & Medical section. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Documents
- Application form, enrolment certificate, claim form (distributed through the school). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Key details
- ¥6,000 per child per month (not more than the tuition paid). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、外国人学校児童・生徒保護者補助金について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Hello. I would like to ask about "外国人学校児童・生徒保護者補助金". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.