Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

Chiyoda CityEducation

Chiyoda City Grant-Type Scholarship

給付型奨学金事業

In short: Up to ¥800,000 a year for tuition and ¥200,000 for entrance fees at approved universities etc.FY2026 applications: 5 May – 6 Jul 2026 (strict).(Source: www.city.chiyoda.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: FY2026 intake. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.chiyoda.lg.jp/koho/kosodate/kyoikukatsudo/kyufugatashogakukin.html

Not yet confirmed — check with the office:
  • Eligibility (age, income, school) — not recorded from the page read.

Who qualifies

Not yet verified from an official source.

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
IncomeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child ageNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipality

Registered as a resident of Chiyoda City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Work / insurance typeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
DisabilityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.

Where to apply

  • Apply to Chiyoda City (see the official page for the counter and online options). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

  • FY2026 applications: 5 May – 6 Jul 2026 (strict). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Documents

  • Resident record (within 3 months); family register if needed; child-rearing allowance certificate / single-parent medical card or family register. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Key details

  • Tuition: actual cost up to ¥800,000 a year (¥400,000 per semester). Entrance fee: actual cost up to ¥200,000, once. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、給付型奨学金事業について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about "給付型奨学金事業". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.