NationalDisability
Disability Basic Pension
障害基礎年金
In short: Pension for disability grade 1 or 2 when the first doctor visit was during National Pension coverage (or before 20).First doctor visit for the condition during National Pension coverage, before age 20, or at 60–64 while living in Japan and not enrolled; disability grade 1 or 2 on the recognition date; and contribution requirement met.(Source: www.nenkin.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: Current as of 2026-10-15 (FY2026 / Reiwa 8); source page live on that date. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.nenkin.go.jp/service/jukyu/seido/shougainenkin/jukyu-yoken/20150514.html
- Application documents
Who qualifies
- First doctor visit for the condition during National Pension coverage, before age 20, or at 60–64 while living in Japan and not enrolled; disability grade 1 or 2 on the recognition date; and contribution requirement met. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Claims for later-worsened conditions must be filed by the day before the day before your 65th birthday. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
|---|---|
| Income | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Work / insurance type | Contributions paid/exempted for 2/3 of insured period before the first visit, or (first visit by end of March 2036, under 65) no unpaid months in the last year. Not required if first visit was before 20 with no enrollment. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Disability | Disability grade 1 or 2 under the pension law's grading table (not the same as a disability certificate grade). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Where to apply
Not yet verified from an official source.
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
Not yet verified from an official source.
Documents
Not yet verified from an official source.
Key details
- FY2026 annual amount (born 2 Apr 1956 or later): grade 1 ¥1,059,125; grade 2 ¥847,300; plus ¥243,800 per child for the first 2 children and ¥81,300 from the 3rd. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Retroactive payment is limited to 5 years. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、障害基礎年金について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Sumimasen, shōgai kiso nenkin ni tsuite ukagaitai no desu ga, taishō ni naru ka, nani o motte ikeba yoi ka oshiete itadakemasu ka.
Hello. I would like to ask about the disability basic pension. Am I eligible, and what should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.