NationalDisability
Independence Support Medical Care
自立支援医療(精神通院・更生医療・育成医療)
In short: Reduces medical co-pays (in principle to 10%, with an income-based monthly cap) for ongoing outpatient mental-health care and for treatment that reduces a physical disability.Outpatient psychiatric care: people with a mental illness (e.g. schizophrenia, including epilepsy) needing ongoing outpatient care. Rehabilitation care (18+): holders of a physical disability certificate whose surgery etc. is expected to reduce the disability. Upbringing care (under 18): children with a physical disability, same condition.(Source: www.mhlw.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: MHLW overview checked 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.mhlw.go.jp/bunya/shougaihoken/jiritsu/gaiyo.html
- Exact cap table by income tier — not recorded.
- Documents — confirm with ward.
- Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.
Who qualifies
- Outpatient psychiatric care: people with a mental illness (e.g. schizophrenia, including epilepsy) needing ongoing outpatient care. Rehabilitation care (18+): holders of a physical disability certificate whose surgery etc. is expected to reduce the disability. Upbringing care (under 18): children with a physical disability, same condition. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Monthly cap depends on household municipal tax. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Mental illness needing ongoing outpatient care, or a physical disability treatable by surgery etc. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Where to apply
- Rehabilitation and upbringing care are run by municipalities; outpatient psychiatric care by prefectures / designated cities. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
Not yet verified from an official source.
Documents
Not yet verified from an official source.
Key details
- A monthly co-pay cap is set by income; if 10% of the month's medical costs is lower, you pay 10%. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、自立支援医療について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Hello. I would like to ask about independence support medical care (jiritsu shien iryō). Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.