Kita CityHealth & medical
Kita City Checkups Away From Home (reimbursement)
里帰り出産等妊産婦健康診査等の費用助成
In short: Reimburses prenatal/postnatal checkups and newborn tests paid yourself where Tokyo vouchers could not be used (e.g. giving birth in your home region).Self-paid checkups at non-contracted medical institutions in Japan (e.g. outside Tokyo; not overseas) while the pregnant/postpartum woman is registered in Kita, without a health-guidance slip. Prenatal checkups after the handbook is issued; newborn hearing first test within 50 days; postpartum checkups within about 2 months; 1-month checkup at 27 days–6 weeks (postpartum and 1-month checkups only from 1 Oct 2026).(Source: www.city.kita.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: Current per Kita City official page read in full 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.kita.lg.jp/children-edu/pregnancy/1002764/1026656.html
- Other caps and deadlines — see page.
- Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.
Who qualifies
- Self-paid checkups at non-contracted medical institutions in Japan (e.g. outside Tokyo; not overseas) while the pregnant/postpartum woman is registered in Kita, without a health-guidance slip. Prenatal checkups after the handbook is issued; newborn hearing first test within 50 days; postpartum checkups within about 2 months; 1-month checkup at 27 days–6 weeks (postpartum and 1-month checkups only from 1 Oct 2026). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Household | Pregnant / new parent. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Child age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Registered as a resident of Kita City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.
Where to apply
Not yet verified from an official source.
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
Not yet verified from an official source.
Documents
Not yet verified from an official source.
Key details
- FY2026 caps per visit: 1st prenatal checkup ¥11,670; 2nd–14th ¥5,460 (13 times); ultrasound ¥5,300 (4); cervical cancer screening ¥3,400 (1); newborn hearing ¥3,000 (once per child); other caps on page. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、里帰り出産等妊産婦健康診査等の費用助成について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Hello. I would like to ask about "里帰り出産等妊産婦健康診査等の費用助成". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.