Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

Minato CityDisability

Minato City Disability Welfare Allowance (ward)

心身障害者福祉手当(区の制度)

In short: Minato monthly allowance of ¥15,500 or ¥7,750 for people with disabilities or designated intractable diseases.Not available if you first got the certificate / intractable disease subsidy at 65 or older (consult if under 65).(Source: www.city.minato.tokyo.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: Current per Minato City official page read in full 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.minato.tokyo.jp/kenko/fukushi/shogaisha/teate/shinshinshogai.html

Not yet confirmed — check with the office:
  • Which grades get which amount; income limits — see page.

Who qualifies

  • Not available if you first got the certificate / intractable disease subsidy at 65 or older (consult if under 65). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
IncomeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child ageNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipality

Registered as a resident of Minato City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Work / insurance typeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Disability

Certificate / intractable disease. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.

Where to apply

  • Apply to Minato City (see the official page for the counter and online options). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

Not yet verified from an official source.

Documents

  • My Number card etc. (also the supporter's if under 20). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Key details

  • ¥15,500 or ¥7,750 a month depending on the disability; paid from the month of application. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、心身障害者福祉手当(区の制度)について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about "心身障害者福祉手当(区の制度)". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.