Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

NationalPension

Pension Lump-sum Withdrawal Payment

脱退一時金 (dattai ichijikin)

In short: Non-Japanese who leave Japan after short pension coverage can claim part of their contributions back.For non-Japanese who leave Japan after short coverage under National Pension or Employees' Pension Insurance, and are no longer covered.(Source: www.nenkin.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: Current as of 2026-10-15 (FY2026 / Reiwa 8); source page live on that date. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.nenkin.go.jp/international/japanese-system/withdrawalpayment/payment.html

Not yet confirmed — check with the office:
  • Employees' Pension amount example (depends on salary)

Who qualifies

  • For non-Japanese who leave Japan after short coverage under National Pension or Employees' Pension Insurance, and are no longer covered. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
  • Requirements (National Pension): not a Japanese national; not insured under public pension; 6+ months of paid contributions (unpaid months do not count); under the 10-year eligibility; never entitled to a pension such as disability; no address in Japan. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
  • Employees' Pension: similar requirements with 6+ months of coverage. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
IncomeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child ageNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Japan

No longer has an address in Japan; claim within 2 years. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Residence in Tokyo / municipalityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Work / insurance type

6+ months of paid National Pension contributions or 6+ months of Employees' Pension coverage; less than 10 years total. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

DisabilityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.

Residence status

Any non-Japanese national (other conditions apply).

Must not be a Japanese national, among other requirements.

[official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Where to apply

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

  • Within 2 years of no longer having an address in Japan (after losing coverage). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Documents

  • Official application form with multilingual instructions (English/Japanese and 13 other languages) published by Japan Pension Service. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Key details

  • National Pension amounts if your last payment was in FY2026: ¥53,760 (6–11 months) up to ¥537,600 (60+ months). Maximum counted months: 60 (36 if last payment before April 2021). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、脱退一時金の手続きについて伺いたいのですが、何を持っていけばよいですか。

Sumimasen, dattai ichijikin no tetsuzuki ni tsuite ukagaitai no desu ga, nani o motte ikeba yoi desu ka.

Hello. I would like to ask about the procedure for the lump-sum withdrawal payment. What documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.