NationalPension
Pensioners' Support Benefit (old-age)
老齢年金生活者支援給付金
In short: A top-up for people 65+ on the old-age basic pension whose household is exempt from resident tax and whose income is low. Base ¥5,620/month, adjusted by contribution history.Aged 65+, receiving the old-age basic pension; everyone in the household exempt from municipal resident tax; prior-year pension income + other income ≤ ¥826,500 (born on/after 2 Apr 1956) or ≤ ¥824,100 (born on/before 1 Apr 1956). A supplementary benefit applies up to ¥926,500 / ¥924,100.(Source: www.nenkin.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: Payments Oct 2026 – Sep 2027 (based on 2025 income); JPS page updated 1 Oct 2026. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.nenkin.go.jp/service/jukyu/seido/sonota-kyufu/shienkyufukin/rourei.html
- Disability / survivor versions — not yet recorded.
- Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.
Who qualifies
- Aged 65+, receiving the old-age basic pension; everyone in the household exempt from municipal resident tax; prior-year pension income + other income ≤ ¥826,500 (born on/after 2 Apr 1956) or ≤ ¥824,100 (born on/before 1 Apr 1956). A supplementary benefit applies up to ¥926,500 / ¥924,100. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | 65 or older. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
|---|---|
| Income | Household resident-tax exempt; income at or below the stated limit. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Where to apply
- Japan Pension Service. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
Not yet verified from an official source.
Documents
Not yet verified from an official source.
Key details
- Monthly: ¥5,620 × contribution months ÷ 480, plus ¥11,768 × exempt months ÷ 480 (born on/after 2 Apr 1956). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、年金生活者支援給付金について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Hello. I would like to ask about the pensioners' support benefit. Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.