TokyoEducation
Tokyo Exam Challenge Support Loan (cram school & exam fees)
受験生チャレンジ支援貸付事業
In short: Interest-free loans for cram-school fees (up to ¥300,000) and high-school/university exam fees for lower-income Tokyo families; repayment is waived if the child enrols.Head of household raising a 3rd-year junior-high or 3rd-year high-school student, or equivalent (e.g. dropouts, high-school-equivalency passers, ronin), under 20.(Source: www.fukushi.metro.tokyo.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: FY2026 (applications from 1 Apr 2026). Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.fukushi.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/seikatsu/teisyotokusyataisaku/jukenseichallenge
- Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.
Who qualifies
- Head of household raising a 3rd-year junior-high or 3rd-year high-school student, or equivalent (e.g. dropouts, high-school-equivalency passers, ronin), under 20. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Borrower and child registered as Tokyo residents; savings and assets ≤ ¥6M; no land/buildings other than your home; not on public assistance; not in debt restructuring or under seizure. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Income limits, e.g. general 3-person household: gross ≤ ¥4,410,000 (total income ≤ ¥3,087,000); 4-person ≤ ¥5,049,000 (¥3,599,000). Single-parent 2-person ≤ ¥4,057,000 (¥2,805,000); 3-person ≤ ¥4,966,000 (¥3,532,000). Renters may deduct rent up to ¥840,000 a year. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Household income and assets below the listed limits. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Child in 3rd year of junior high / high school or equivalent, under 20. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Registered in Tokyo. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Not stated on the official page — confirm with your municipality.
Where to apply
- First consult your municipal counter; screening by the Tokyo Council of Social Welfare. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
- Submit receipts to your municipality by end of March 2027, otherwise the loan must be repaid in full. Payment arrives 2–3 weeks after the loan agreement is submitted. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Documents
- Resident record (whole household, issued within 3 months), latest tax certificate, lease (if needed), proof of enrolment, borrower ID, cram-school fee/course documents or exam fee documents, receipts, and a seal registration certificate when returning the loan agreement. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Key details
- Interest-free. Limits: cram school ¥300,000; high-school exam fees ¥27,400; university exam fees ¥120,000. Repayment is waived if the child enters high school / university etc. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、受験生チャレンジ支援貸付について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Hello. I would like to ask about the exam challenge support loan. Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.