TokyoEducation
Tokyo Free School User Support Subsidy
東京都フリースクール等利用者支援事業助成金
In short: For parents of elementary/junior-high students not attending school who use a free school: Tokyo pays up to ¥20,000 a month toward fees.Parents of elementary and junior high school students not attending school who attend a free school or similar facility; other Tokyo requirements also apply.(Source: www.seikatubunka.metro.tokyo.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: FY2026 (Reiwa 8): applications 27 May 2026 – 12 Feb 2027. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.seikatubunka.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/about/gaiyou/0000002459
- Full "other Tokyo requirements" (residence etc.) — read the grant guidelines PDF.
- Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.
Who qualifies
- Parents of elementary and junior high school students not attending school who attend a free school or similar facility; other Tokyo requirements also apply. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Elementary or junior high school student. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Where to apply
- Apply online or by post via the official site; enquiries: Tokyo Free School Subsidy Office 03-6800-8763 (9:00–18:00, closed Sundays/holidays). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
- Applications accepted 27 May 2026 – 12 Feb 2027; you can claim back to April 2026 if you apply by the final deadline. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Documents
Not yet verified from an official source.
Key details
- Up to ¥20,000 per month toward usage fees. Enrolment fees, facility maintenance and teaching materials are not covered. Paid after usage reports, submitted every 3 months. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、フリースクール等利用料助成金について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。
Hello. I would like to ask about the free school fee subsidy. Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.