Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

Toshima CityEducation

Toshima City Foreign School Pupil Guardian Subsidy

外国人学校児童・生徒保護者負担軽減補助金

In short: ¥6,000 a month per child at a foreign school, for foreign-resident guardians.Guardian is a foreign resident on the Toshima resident register; child registered in Toshima; not if both parents are Japanese (incl. naturalised); not if receiving a similar subsidy elsewhere. Must meet all conditions each month.(Source: www.city.toshima.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: Current per Toshima City official page read in full 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.toshima.lg.jp/353/kosodate/gakko/yochien/shiritsu/1810151418.html

Who qualifies

  • Guardian is a foreign resident on the Toshima resident register; child registered in Toshima; not if both parents are Japanese (incl. naturalised); not if receiving a similar subsidy elsewhere. Must meet all conditions each month. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
IncomeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child age

Child at a foreign school. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipality

Registered as a resident of Toshima City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Work / insurance typeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
DisabilityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.

Where to apply

  • Apply to Toshima City (see the official page for the counter and online options). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

  • Twice a year (Apr–Sep and Oct–Mar); forms sent via the school in early October and late January. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Documents

Not yet verified from an official source.

Key details

  • ¥6,000 per child per month (not more than the fees paid). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、外国人学校児童・生徒保護者負担軽減補助金について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about "外国人学校児童・生徒保護者負担軽減補助金". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.